IGSN Technical Documentation of the International Geo Sample Number

2013-07-01 Code Sprint

Code Sprint 2013

The first IGSN-DataCite-ORCID Code Sprint will be held at GFZ Potsdam on 1-2 July 2013.

Day 1

01 July 2013, House A70, Room 210

Begin: 1100

  • Introduction
  • Selection of topics, definition of targets
  • Introduction to APIs
  • Coding workshop I
  • (Lunch)
  • Coding workshop II
  • Video conference with LDEO (1500 CET, 9 AM EDT, 8 AM CDT)
  • Closing round of day 1.

Day 2

02 July 2013, House A69, Room 208

Begin: 0900

  • Opening day 2
  • Review of Day 1
  • Coding Workshop III
  • (Lunch)
  • Coding Workshop IV
  • Video conference with LDEO (1500 CET, 9 AM EDT, 8 AM CDT)
  • Presentation of results
  • Wrap-up

Suggested Topics

  • Identify authors in data systems
  • Identify author’s current affiliation
  • Search by e-mail
  • Let authors associate samples and data with their publications
  • scan PDF-papers for DOI, author, IGSN, and contact e-mail to catch crosslinks between the systems
  • Bibliometrics for data and samples

Code Repositories and API Documentations

Miscellaneous

Twitter accounts and hash-tags:

  • hash-tag: #igsn_info

  • IGSN: @igsn_info
  • ORCID: @orcid_org